The sold-out Red Carpet O.P.A.L. Awards Gala presented by Rotary Club of Boca Raton to honor Outstanding People And Leaders, have more than 300 area dignitaries and community leaders in attendance. This year’s event honors City of Boca Raton Mayor Susan Whelchel (community service); Dr. Louise Morrell , Medical Director of the Women’s Center For Breast Care, Boca Raton Community Hospital (Healthcare & Medicine); Dr. Geoff McKee , Principal of Boca Raton Community High School (Education); Ingrid A. Fulmer , Broker-Associate, SIOR, Coldwell Banker Commercial NRT (Private Sector), and Dr. Dennis Frisch of Boca Raton Podiatry (Community Service). Past Opal Award Recipients attending include Rosemary & Ben Kreiger, Margaret Mary & John Shuff, Dr. Ira Gelb, and Michael Kaufman.

Saturday, January 23, 2010–Cocktail Reception- 6:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m.; Dinner and Dancing 7:30 p.m.-11:00 p.m.

Boca Pointe Country Club, 7144 Boca Pointe Drive
(Powerline Road, South of Palmetto Park Road, North of 18th Street)

The Rotary Club of Boca Raton, an organization of business and professional leaders dedicated to “Changing Lives and Building Futures” united to provide humanitarian service, encouraging high ethical standards in all vocations, and help build goodwill and peace in the world.

In addition to OPAL Honorees, other VIPS attendees include City of Boca Raton Council Member Michael Mullaugh and Rotary Club International District 6930 Governor, Leo H. Phillips, Jr. OPAL GALA 2010 Co-chairs; Alan Kaye and Janice Williams; Honorary Chair and Auctioneer: Neil Saffer

Providing college scholarships to worthy candidates has been the primary focus of the Rotary Club of Boca Raton for more than 20 years. In 2009, the club awarded four-year college scholarships (including a laptop computer stipend) to six deserving local high school students. These scholarships assist worthy young men and women in our community in the pursuit of their dreams. Proceeds from the OPAL Gala will again provide scholarships and laptops for deserving Boca Raton area students.